TGleichner

342,745 Ways to Herd Cats, OR tl;dr1 Challenge

In challenges on April 17, 2008 at 12:54 pm

I have finally hit my stride, and this is the 4th challenge of the year.  This is another one that caught my eye, not only because of the name but because it is something I should easily be able to accomplish.  Here is the jist of it:

1. Make a list of ten books you love. That’s the only qualification; you had to love (or at least like it) the books on the list. Ten books, a list full of ♥

2. Share the list. 

3. Browse the lists created by our other members, collected here: reading lists! There will also be a master list of books available when people actually makes their lists.

4. Read at least three books recommended by others between May 1st – November 30th, 20082. Of course, more is fine! Encouraged, even!

5. Write reviews of the books you read! As long as folks are reading from our collection of lists, I’ll continue collecting those reviews in our account, until the very last second of November 30th. Three is just the minimum, in order not to scare off people who shall remain nameless that might be a member of 745,936,623 reading challenges. >.>

6. Share the links to your reviews for the challenge by using one of the steps listed in #2. All reviews will be collected in the reviews (link will exist soon) tag, and all participants will be listed in (who would’ve guessed), the participants tag.

The books I have chosen for this challenge are:

Midwives by Chris Bohjalian

My Sister’s Keeper by Jodi Picoult

and

The Historian by Elizabeth Kostova

For more info click here.

My 10 books are:

1.  Mistress of the Revolution by Catherine Delors
2.  Bones of the Dead by Elle Newmark
3.  From the Corner of His Eye by Dean Koontz
4.  Franny and Zooey by J.D. Salinger
5.  Darkfever by Karen Marie Moning
6.  Secret Life of Bees by Sue Monk Kidd
7.  Suzanne’s Diary for Nicholas by James Patterson
8.  Welcome to the Monkey House by Kurt Vonnegut
9.  The Count of Monte Cristo by Alexandre Dumas
10.  The Thirteenth Tale by Diane Setterfield
(it was soooooo hard to pick just 10 and I just thought of the first 10 I could)
  1. My Sister’s Keeper by Jodi Picoult is an EXCELLENT book — I’ve read a lot of her books. If you like it, I recommend Plain Truth, Salem Falls, Keeping Faith…pretty much any of them! But I think MSK is my favorite 😉

  2. Whew, I thought I was going to be strong and not join another challenge but this one is my favorite so far! I love hearing about peoples favorites books! OK, I am hooked and have to sign up! LOL It may take me a couple of days to get my list thought up and longer to pick my 3 books. BTW, what are your 10 books?

  3. Thanks for the nice comment about the my list of 10. I agonize every time I look at it because I think, “Oh, I could have listed that one instead”, LOL.
    Do you do that? I would be thrilled if you want to read the books I’ve listed, be warned though that I really go in for tear-jerkers and a few on that list are! Hey, btw, drop me an email sometime, wouldja. I know you are probably crazy busy but I miss chatting with ya. 😀

  4. […] it, which was part of how I selected it. Look for one that lots of people liked. I grabbed it from Amateur de Livre’s list. « Dear Weekly Geeks […]

Leave a Reply

