TGleichner

The Truth (I’m a girl, I’m smart and I know everything) by Dr. Barbara Becker Holstein

In book giveaways, book review, Pump up Your Book Promotion on April 18, 2008 at 7:21 am

The Truth (I’m a girl, I’m smart and I know everything) by Dr. Barbara Becker Holstein

91 pages

ISBN 978-09798952-0-3

Enchanted Self Press

Excerpt from the back of the book:

Read the thoughts, secrets and stories of a young girl just leaving girlhood.  “The Girl” writes all her deepest thoughts in her diary and gives every young reader a sense that they are not alone.  What if you could have found a secret diary written by your mother or your grandmother when she was a girl?  Wouldn’t you be curious to see how they really felt when they were young?  Now you have a chance to really know how girls like you have felt generation to generation…

I was thrilled to be offered a copy of this book from Pump Up Your Promotion – there has always been something about a diary or journal format that has been intriguing to me.  Maybe it’s because i wish I would have been more diligent and kept a journal as I was growing up.  Sure, most of it would have been meaningless, but there might be a few treasured thoughts or feelings that I conveyed years ago that I really long to have again.  But, sadly, I didn’t do this so I have to live vicariously through journals and diaries of others.

This “diary” is that of a 10 year old girl.  As I read this, it brought back so many memories of my childhood, some wonderful, and some awkward.  The writing was superb – I wonder, does the author currently have a 10 year old daughter?  If not, she truly has captured the voice of little girls everywhere.  I was surprised at how much I loved this book!  I am sometimes unsure, especially when the book is geared more towards the “younger” generation.  But there were a few passages that I felt the need to share:

Things for Grownups to Remember:

Don’t be mean to animals.

Try not to swear for a month.

Don’t fight with anyone you love.

Don’t put people down or call them names.

Believe your child if she tells you she is in love.

Answer a kid’s questions.

Listen to their ideas.

It seems like such a simple thing, but aren’t these things we all should really take to heart and try to live by?  That said, she also makes some promises for when she is grownup.

Things I promise to do when I grow up:

I’ll travel a lot.

I won’t look away when my kids ask me tough questions.

I’ll answer truthfully.

I won’t swear.

I won’t get into silly fights with my husband.

I’ll have fun with my kids and laugh a lot.

I’ll remember me!

Oh, if only we can take all of these and use them everyday.  It’s worth a shot, right? 

To listen to Dr. Barbara discuss The Truth, click here

To purchase a copy of this book, click here.

A copy of this book is going to be raffled off on Friday, April 25th.  For your chance to win, please comment on this post.  For an additional entry, blog about it and let me know where to check.  Thanks again for all of your support!

  1. Sounds good! I can’t wait to read this one!

  2. Sounds good to me too. Just found your blog today… from Multiply!

  3. What a sweet book. I know I would enjoy it and I have a niece who would also read it. I could Pass It Forward! The least you made from her journal reminds me a little of the book, “Everything I Needed to know, I Learned in
    Kindergarten.” Something like that. Please enter me in your book drawing. Many thanks, Cindi

  4. Looks like a fun read! 🙂

  5. I’ve read both the women’s and girl’s versions of this book and they’re really wonderful. They remind women of what it’s like to be that age and let girls know that what they’re feeling is okay too.

    Cheryl

  6. […] author of The Truth, I’m a girl, I’m smart, and I know everything will be appearing at Amateur de Livre and Conversations with Writers! Dr. Holstein’s book is another first in positive psychology. […]

  7. Thanks so much for the great review. I have a daughter but she is already a mom! I really do believe that 10, 11, 12 are critical ages for girls! I hope to be back with the sequel in a year or so. In that book she will grow to be almost 14! All my best, Dr. Barbara Becker Holstein

Leave a Reply

