TGleichner

1% Well-Read Challenge

In challenges on May 2, 2008 at 1:28 pm

I am telling you – I am really enjoying signing up for these challenges.  It is helping me put a dent in books on my TBR list that have been on there for WAY too long.  This one is really great – here are the rules:

The goal of this challenge is to read 10 books in 10 months from the 1001 Books You Must Read Before You Die list. For you non-math people, 10 out of 1001 is approximately 1%, hence the title. The challenge will run from May 1, 2008 through February 28, 2009.

You may change your list at any time and cross-posting to other challenges is permitted. The only requirement is that your ten book choices must be on the ‘1001 List‘. Another helpful tool is an Excel spreadsheet by Arukiyoma that is found here.

To sign up visit 1% Well-Read Rules and Signup.  Here are my 10:

  1. Middlesex by Jeffrey Eugenides
  2. House of Leaves by Mark Z. Danielewski
  3. Beloved by Toni Morrison
  4. The Wasp Factory by Iain Banks
  5. The World According to Garp by John Irving
  6. One Hundred Years of Solitude by Gabriel Garcia Marquez
  7. The Pit and the Pendulum by Edgar Allen Poe
  8. Interview with a Vampire by Anne Rice
  9. Life of Pi by Yann Martel
  10. The Secret History by Donna Tartt
  1. Great list! I’m doing this challenge, too, so we’ll have to check up on each other. 🙂

    Have a good weekend!
    Lezlie

  2. Great list! The first two books on your list are also on mine. I’ll be interested to see what you think about those two books in particular.

  3. I am have to break down and join this challenge. My parents gave me this book two years ago for christmas and I found an excel document online to keep track of my reads, so this would be a great more to tick a few more off the list. You’ve put together a great list! I read The World According to Garp last year and enjoyed it. One Hundred Years was a lot of work, but also good. I really enjoyed House of Leaves, although it freaked me out! 🙂 Happy reading.

  4. You chose some great books. A few I haven’t read. House of Leaves I just couldn’t finish, and I agree One Hundred Years Of Solitude is worth the work. My favorite on your list would be a tough choice between Middlesex and Life of Pi but I would chose Life of Pi. I bet you will love Interview With A Vampire- it was fun (one of the easiest Anne Rice books for me!)

  5. Glad to have you on the 1% challenge!
    Michelle
    1morechapter.com

Leave a Reply

