TGleichner

Busy week

In sunday salon, weekly geeks on May 11, 2008 at 7:46 am

I haven’t had a reading week like this in a LONG time!  I am not sure what made it possible for me to read so many books this week, but I am glad that I did.  There are some weeks where it seems like I struggle to get one book read – this week I finished one and started and finished 5.  They are:

Checkmate by Jean Hackensmith – finished May 5

Emotionless Souls by David S. Grant – started and finished on May 5

Embittered Justice by Michaela Riley – finished on May 6

When a Man Loves a Woman by LaConnie Taylor-Jones – finished on May 8

35 Miles from Shore by Emilio Corsetti III – finished on May 8

My Sister’s Keeper by Jodi Picoult – finished May 10

(Reviews will be coming on all of these in the very near future)

One of the things I think helped is the fact that we actually had some decent weather.  I then take the kids outside, hang some wash on the line and bring a book to read.  But, my hubby lost his job on Friday (which really sucks as he is the sole income in our household) so this week I will be busy helping him look for work.  This couldn’t have come at a worse time, but it will all work out, somehow.

For our Weekly Geek theme this week, we are supposed to write down some fond memories of childhood books.  I guess it all depends on how you define childhood.  When I was quite small, before I could read, my favorite and I mean all time favorite books were any by Dr. Seuss.  Ok, who am I kidding, these are probably still my favorites.  It sounds so cliche because he is such a favorite for so many people, but with good reason.  If asked to pick a favorite book I think it may be Horton Hears a Who, but I really hope I never have to truly pick.  I know the one my mom liked to read to me the most was Green Eggs and Ham.  They are all such classics and each (for the most part) also have some lesson to be learned.  True Genius!

Having two little kids myself I enjoy reading Dr. Seuss to them as well.  There aren’t too many authors nowadays that I like as much, although I also enjoy reading the Sandra Boynton books to them as well.  There are some others but I can’t think of any right now.  Oh well, what can you do?

So, off to enjoy my Mother’s Day.  Happy Mother’s Day to all of you and enjoy your Sunday!

  1. I envy your reading marathon. I am just the opposite, I am going through a malaise were I can not for the life of me concentrate on a book!! It’s not like me and I am getting behind on my reading.
    BTW, I loved Dr. Seuss as a kid too, Green Eggs and Ham was my favorite and my son loved it when I read it to him. His other favorite was I’ll Love You Forever but I think I about fell to pieces every time I read it to him. He’s 18 and says it’s a “depressing” book now, LOL.

  2. […] Busy week « Amateur de Livre’s Weblog […]

  3. I read My Sister’s Keeper last year. It was my first book by Picoult. After that I read 7 more books by her!

    😀

    Childhood Memories

  4. I’m sorry to hear about your hubby losing his job. That must be rough. Hopefully he’ll find something even BETTER soon. Hang in there!

  5. […] Busy week « Amateur de Livre’s Weblog […]

Leave a Reply

