TGleichner

Behold Your Mother by Heidi Hess-Saxton

In book review, Pump up Your Book Promotion on May 12, 2008 at 7:39 am

ISBN 978-0-9800483-0-8

71 Pages

www.bezalelbooks.com

To purchase a copy, click here.

Let me first start out by saying that I am not Christian.  I was raised Catholic so I am familiar with the teachings, I have just found that it wasn’t for me.  But, the one aspect of the Christian faith that I always loved was Mary.  My grandmother has ALWAYS prayed to Mary, in fact when I told her about this book she asked me to let her read it.  She loves speaking to Mary as one mother to another.  She asks Mary to go to her son and ask for whatever she is in need of. 

In this devotion to the Blessed Mother, author Heidi Hess Saxton shares her personal reflections and how she came to develop a meaningful relationship with Mary, at first thinking Jesus might not approve.  The book then includes 48 powerful meditations beginning with scripture and ending with a short prayer.  I loved how following each line of scripture she interpreted what Mary may have thought at that time in her life.

Really a very interesting book for Christians and non-Christians alike. 

About the author:

Heidi Hess-Saxton converted to the Catholic faith in 1994, after spending 30 years actively participating in a variety of Christian traditions.  Having pursued graduate studies at Sacred Heart Major Seminary in Detroit, Michigan, Heidi lives with her husband and family in southern Michigan.  She is editor of Canticle magazine, and adoptive parent columnist at www.CatholicExchange.com and www.CatholicMom.com

Thanks to everyone at Pump Up Your Book Promotion for allowing me to review this!

  1. Thanks for the nice review Tracee. I’ve read the book too, and as a former Catholic and mother, I appreciate the new understanding of Mary found within this book’s pages.

    Cheryl

  2. Thanks so much for the wonderful review! There are many reasons people decide to step away from the Church, for a time or for good. Besides the Eucharist, I’ve found that Mary is one of the most persuasive reasons for going back! God bless… Heidi

  3. i would love to read this book. its sounds like a great book.

Leave a Reply

