TGleichner

Janeology by Karen Harrington

In book review, Pump up Your Book Promotion on May 16, 2008 at 5:13 pm

ISBN-13: 978-1-60164-020-8

Hardcover, 246 pages

Published by Kunati Inc.

I was intrigued by this book.  I am the mother of two young children, and know the stress that is involved with raising them and still trying to find “me” time and time for myself and my husband as a couple.  I will admit that it can seem overwhelming at times but I try my best and think that I do ok – I’m not a perfect person, mother, or spouse, but I accept that and make the most of every day, whatever it may bring.  Every time I hear the stories on the news about mother’s who take the lives of their child/children I shudder.  I personally can’t imagine what would make someone reach this level…don’t get me wrong, I am trying not to judge these individuals because obviously they do suffer from some sort of mental illness, I am just saying that I can’t imagine it.  A perfectly innocent child who usually wants nothing more than some love and affection.  But, I am going on and on when I really should be reviewing the book.  So, here goes.

Since the birth of my daughter 4 years ago, I have realized that the worst thing that can happen to an individual is to lose a child.  For Tom Nelson the pain involved is even more intense- his wife, Jane, drowns their son and tries to drown his twin sister, who survives the attack.   This book revolves around the trial against Tom – should he spend time in jail for failing to realize that his wife was “ill” and not helping to prevent this tragedy?  Isn’t he suffering enough knowing that he may have missed some obvious signs of distress that may have saved the lives of his dead son, and institutionalized wife?  Where do we draw the line when it comes to liability?

There are many aspects of this book that I liked.  I am always interested in the genetic aspect of things and this book does a wonderful job of exploring these possibilites.  Was Jane predisposed to do an act like this, due to her genetic makeup?  After reading this book, you may change your mind on how much the gene pool may influence our behavior patterns.  Then again, you may not.  It is something that could cause some heated discussions, and thought provoking as well.

I also was intrigued by Mariah, a relative of Jane’s who is clairvoyant.  She is able to touch objects in a trunk that belongs to Jane and help piece together the missing parts of Jane’s past – parts that may help us understand her personality, and what may have caused her to commit this horrendous act.  The writing of these events was wonderfully done – I loved the way the author used different “voices” to represent the different family members and time frames.  Very well done.

About the Author:

 

Karen Harrington was born and raised in Texas, where she still lives with her husband and children. She received a B.A. in Interdisciplinary Studies from the University of Texas at Dallas.

Karen’s first writing gigs were in corporate America as an editor and speechwriter. Her fiction writing has been recognized by the Hemingway Short Story Competition and the Texas Film Institute.

She authored and published There’s A Dog In the Doorway, a children’s book created expressly for the Dr. Laura Schlessinger Foundation’s “My Stuff Bags”.

“My Stuff” bags go to children in need who must leave their homes due to abuse, neglect or abandonment.

Karen also supports and advocates the proliferation of Crisis Nursery Centers designed to provide free child-care to families in emergency situations.

To view a trailer for this book, please click below:

 

 

Once again I need to thank my friends at Pump Up Your Book Promotion for allowing me the opportunity to review this book!

 
 

  1. I have seen this book somewhere? and wondered what it was about. It sounds really interesting, I like to read books that deal with psychology and I enjoy controversial subject matter. Great review!

  2. Nice review Karen! My copy should be here any day now… Andy

  3. I am intrigued by the premise of this book, too. It is definitely at the top of my tbr list.

  4. Stopping by to thank you for a wonderfully thoughtful review!

    Now that I’ve discovered your site through PumpUpYourBooks, I’ll be back for more great book discussions.

    Best,

    Karen Harrington

  5. This sounds really interesting. I’m going to add it to my TBR list. Thanks!

  6. I would loe to read this book, but I’m just too busy right now. I got a nice e-mail from them, but I hate to take a book I know I won’t get to for another 3 months.

    I’m doing the first of 5 contests for the autographed Mudbound books. Go here if you would like to play.

  7. This sounds like a good one. I’ll add it to my TBR’s. Thanks!

  8. Janeology is a wonderful read. Difficult subject matter, masterfully addressed by Karen Harrington.
    Beth Fehlbaum, author
    Courage in Patience, a story of hope for those who have endured abuse
    http://courageinpatience.blogspot.com
    Chapter 1 is online!

Leave a Reply

