TGleichner

A New Angel

In Family on May 14, 2011 at 11:22 am

Heaven got a new angel last night – my Nana (Elizabeth Marion Skrepenski) passed away.  To call her my Nana doesn’t even seem like enough because she was so much more.  Being the oldest grandchild I always had a special bond with both my Nana and Papa.  I have an Uncle (their youngest son) who is only 2 years older than I am so we practically lived together.  She was like a second mom to me and my Papa was the only father figure I ever had.

Our closeness continued on as I grew older.  She was the type of person i could always turn to in good times and in bad.  The worst day of my life (when Mini had open heart surgery) she was the one that was there for us, along with my Aunt Cari.  Not even my mom and sister were.

Unfortunately she was riddled with health problems over the last 3 years or so.  It started with COPD about 10 years ago but she fought that for a good long time.  She was probably on oxygen all the time for the past two years or so.  She also has had some major heart issues and breast cancer as recently as this year.  She was only 76 years old but the illnesses had worn her down and even her mind was starting to go.

She will be forever missed, a dear sweet woman who went through so much all for the family that loved her more than anything.  If not for us I believe she would have given up the fight long ago.  Rest in Peace my lovely Nana and know that you are always in my thoughts.  I love you!

Leave a Reply

